104: Buy Me Some Peanuts and Trivia


On June 12, 1939, the National Baseball Hall of Fame was dedicated in Cooperstown, New York.

Here are some things you may not know about the Hall of Fame.

One, the first Hall of Fame class was inducted in 1936 and consisted of five former players: Ty Cobb, Christy Mathewson, Walter Johnson, Honus Wagner and Babe Ruth.

Two, Cooperstown was chosen as the site of the museum based on the myth that Abner Doubleday invented the game in the town. Instead of being invented, the game likely evolved from the same games that developed into cricket and rounders. Doubleday never claimed to have invented the game and his obituary in the New York Times does not mention the game.

Third, pitchers Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and second baseman Craig Biggio will be inducted into the Hall of Fame this summer.

Our question: Which two players received exemptions from the five-year waiting period for induction into the baseball hall of fame?

Follow us on TwitterFacebook or our website.

Also, if you’re enjoying the show, please consider supporting it through Patreon.com

Please rate the show on iTunes by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.