Episode 91: First Indianapolis 500

The 1911 Indianapolis 500
The 1911 Indianapolis 500

Today is the 104th anniversary of the first Indianapolis 500-Mile Race.

Here are some things you may not have known about the first Indy 500.

First: After a season in which attendance declined unacceptably, track owners decided to have just one event in 1911. The idea of a 500-mile race won out over a 24-hour race, and other endurance events.

Second: To qualify, cars had to maintain a speed of at least 75 miles per hour over a quarter mile. The starting order was set by entry date, rather than qualifying speed.

Third: The race was won by Ray Harroun, who completed the 500 miles in 6 hours, 42 minutes and 8 seconds, averaging 75.602 miles per hour.

Our question: Who has won the most Indianapolis 500s?

Follow us on TwitterFacebook or our website.

Also, if you’re enjoying the show, please consider supporting it through Patreon.com

Please rate the show on iTunes by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.